cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connect Box

Supporting Actor TV
3 0 0

GIGA - intermittent timeouts and connection loss

I've been using the UPC cable for a few years now, upgrading to the best possible service whenever something new was made available. With the beginning of 2020, i switched to the GIGA Connect Box to benefit from gigabit download speeds.

Long story short, I'm having lots of intermittent service disruptions, about 2-3 per day and it's really frustrating to have to reboot the Connect Box each time. The device logs are filled with the following messages:

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=e4:57:40:0e:72:61;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:95:57:89;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Ranging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=e4:57:40:0e:72:61;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:95:57:89;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=e4:57:40:0e:72:61;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:95:57:89;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=e4:57:40:0e:72:61;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:95:57:89;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

Having spent ample time with tech support who first advised to first switch the standard coax cable I have been using to a better one, which I did buying a nice 120dbi 5-layer shielded HAMA - not really made a lot of difference being honest.

Finally, through a prolonged call, I'm being told that by using the device in modem mode with my own enterprise grade router and infrastructure at home, I'm actually out of support!

What's even more frustrating is that the technician doesn't understand that the logs i pasted above and read out to him (apparently no email address to send those to... really?) come from my own device and not the Connect Box.